Student Literary Awards


The Student Literary Awards honor the Colorado winners of Letters About Literature and River of Words, two national competitions presented each year by Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book in affiliation with the Center for the Book in the Library of Congress. The winning students, surrounded by parents, family members, teachers, and educators from across the state, are recognized for their literary or artistic achievements.

Congratulations to our Colorado Letters About Literature 2016 winners and our Colorado River of Words 2016 winners.

To purchase a Student Literary Awards Anthology, please click here.


Our 13th annual Student Literary Awards honoring Letters About Literature and River of Words winning students was held on May 11, 2016, when student winners shared their poetry, prose and artwork with an audience of student peers, family, teachers and other community members. Student winners were presented with various prizes, and a published anthology of their winning entries.

Awards to winners in the state River of Words competition are selected by artist Rik Sargent, retired Colorado Supreme Court Justice Gregory Hobbs, and Colorado Poet Laureate Joseph Hutchison. Authors Teague Bohlen, Stephanie Blake, Rondi Frieder, Peggy Tibbetts, and Leah Basoff will select winners for the Letters About Literature competition.

For more information, please contact Marnie Lansdown at 303.894.7951 x 18 or