Project Description

Colorado Poet Laureate

On Tuesday, July 23, 2019 at the State Capitol, Governor Jared Polis introduced award-winning poet, artist, and writer Bobby LeFebre as Colorado’s new Poet Laureate.

“Bobby LeFebre has an amazing ability to empower and connect communities through the wisdom of his words; that is why we are confident he will make a fantastic Poet Laureate,” said Governor Jared Polis. “He embodies the spirit of a ‘Colorado for All’ where everyone is included, no matter their background. I know he will be a strong advocate for the arts and art education as a way to bring us together.”

Bobby LeFebre is a two-time Grand Slam Champion, a National Poetry Slam Finalist, an Individual World Poetry Slam Finalist, and a two-time TEDx speaker. He has performed at hundreds of cultural events, social actions, detention centers, conferences, and colleges and universities across the United States and abroad. He is also co-founder of Cafe Cultura, an award-winning nonprofit organization that utilizes poetry as a tool for youth literacy and educational and cultural development.

The Poet Laureate serves a four-year term and is chosen by the Governor through a program administered by Colorado Creative Industries and Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book. Margaret Coval, Colorado Humanities Executive Director, said, “We have seen how poetry can build bridges of understanding. We look forward to working with Bobby LeFebre as he creates opportunities for Coloradans to experience the power of poetry in their lives.”

To learn more about Bobby LeFebre and read some of his recent work, visit or

To invite Bobby LeFebre to present in your community, please email

Bobby LeFebre is Colorado’s 8th Poet Laureate, following in the footsteps of these greats:

  • Nellie Burget Miller (1923-1952)

  • Margaret Clyde Robertson (1952-1954)

  • Milford E. Shields (1954)

  • Thomas Hornsby Ferril (1979-1988)

  • Mary Crow (1996-2010)

  • David Mason (2010-2014)

  • Joseph Hutchison (2014-2019)

Our Calendar

Special thanks to our sponsors

Upcoming Events

Join Colorado Humanities in our upcoming events

History Live Durango

September 7 @ 8:00 am - September 29 @ 5:00 pm


Colorado Humanities forges program partnerships statewide to improve education, strengthen cultural institutions and enrich community life. Your contribution makes you an important part of it.